U of S | Mailing List Archive | alt-photo-process-l | The "Offender" replies....

The "Offender" replies....

  • To: alt-photo-process-l@usask.ca, Richard Knoppow <dickburk@ix.netcom.com>
  • Subject: The "Offender" replies....
  • From: John Edwards <edw4@mindspring.com>
  • Date: Fri, 25 Aug 2006 23:47:55 -0700
  • Comments: "alt-photo-process mailing list"
  • Domainkey-signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=dk20050327;d=mindspring.com;b=WXF1zVHbVHZeDX63MXn725OxK7gNitUvWbwCI15r+jI+8cNl0euIwkehjODxW4Vt;h=Received:Message-ID:Date:From:User-Agent:X-Accept-Language:MIME-Version:To:Subject:References:In-Reply-To:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding:X-ELNK-Trace:X-Originating-IP;
  • In-reply-to: <001501c6c8bb$27f90ab0$32c6e804@VALUED20606295>
  • List-id: alt-photo-process mailing list <alt-photo-process-l@sask.usask.ca>
  • References: <49223.><20060725175453.85823.qmail@web56603.mail.re3.yahoo.com><50447.><E9E94D7A-6A0B-4CEA-8CFD-876213834E9B@comcast.net><Pine.NEB.4.63.0607281733440.13351@panix1.panix.com><a06020416c0f137b86637@[]><Pine.NEB.4.63.0608251345110.13100@panix3.panix.com><001501c6c8bb$27f90ab0$32c6e804@VALUED20606295>
  • Reply-to: alt-photo-process-l@usask.ca
  • User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.2)Gecko/20040804 Netscape/7.2 (ax)

I most humbly apologize for causing such a turmoil on this list, which I have belonged to since about 1998(?).
I have used SpamArrest for prob 6 months, and have had some success with it, decreasing my spam by probably 80%.
They seem to be a fairly new company.
This list, I admit, has been filtered off to a subdirectory by me, mostly because I tired of wading through endless squabbles and fully-copied messages.
Unfortunately, I don't have time to check and read every day - usually only checking my email weekly.
That being said, I do value the info you put forth on alt processes, and hope to get myself out of neutral and back into the darkroom.
Thanks to Richard Knoppow for "getting it".
I have placed this list on "approved" status, which I sincerely hope will solve the problem.
Once again, I apologize.
- John F. Edwards, Vancouver, WA (edw4@mindspring.com)

Richard Knoppow wrote:

O.K., I just got a similar message. It was sent by the Spamarrest site, which appears to be legitimate. It is responding to a message I sent to this list rather than to the subscriber to the spam blocker. The GIF images are their trade marks, etc, all sent HTML, generally a no-no for e-mail. I am not responding to it because I sent no message to this person. I think it is a bug in the Spamarrest's software. Perhaps it is responding to the same thing that blocks my own messages as returned by the list. The interesting thing is that it was sent directly to me and not forwarded by the list. I can now understand why you were annoyed by this and appologize for taking you to task. However, I doubt if the spam blocker service subscriber, whoever he is, knows its doing this. Heigh-Ho, locking out the bad guys also locks out your friends.
Richard Knoppow
Los Angeles, CA, USA